Satus Code # Category #
23 days A1121 Pushing FIBA Tough Calls: Correct decision by the referees. The first illegal contact was created by Purple 44, who pushed White 0, which resulted in, White 0 creating a contact against Purple 6. Purple 44 pushing foul is the correct decision.
23 days A1122 Screening FIBA Tough calls: Black 19 was not stationary when setting the screen and, at the point of contact, was outside his cylinder thus creating a blocking foul.
23 days A1123 Unsportsmanlike FIBA Tough Calls: Red 15 occupied a position on the court without creating any contact with his opponent. The contact created by Yellow 3 occurred during a normal basketball play, as he was moving the ball from side to side to try to beat the defender and start a dribble. The contact created by the arm of Yellow 3, into the face of Red 15, was not a hard, excessive contact. Team control personal foul is the correct decision.
28 days A1119 Charge-Block The helping defender establishes a legal guarding position in front of the offensive player and the contact occurs on the defender's torso. Offensive foul.
28 days A1120 Act of shooting Incorrect decision by the referees. When the contact occurred, Yellow 15 had not caught the ball in the air yet, so the act of shooting had not started. The game should have been resumed with a Yellow team throw-in from the place closest to where the foul occurred, except directly behind the backboard, and 16 seconds on the shot clock.
30 days A1118 Charge-Block The defensive player establishes a legal guarding position and the contact is on her torso. Offensive foul.
43 days B422 Backcourt After the rebound no team control is gained by White team (they can only tap the ball which is not a team control) therefore no backourt violation occurs.
43 days A1116 Charge-Block The defensive player establishes a legal guarding position outside the semi-circle before the shooter jumps forward. The contact is on the torso. Offensive foul.
43 days A1117 Screening Orange 10 sets a moving screen. Offensive foul.
46 days A1115 Advantage-Disadvantage This is a typical case when the advantage-disadvantage principle should be applied.
50 days A1112 Verticality Blue 10 is still moving forward and causes contact with Yellow 8 who jumped to shoot. Defensive foul.
50 days A1113 Charge-Block-Flop Yellow 4 does not establish a legal guarding position and causes contact with Blue 16 who has picked up the ball when contact occurs. Defensive foul during act of shooting. 2 free throws shall be awarded.
50 days A1114 Screening White 11 does not give sufficient time and distance to the screened player out of his field of vision. Illegel screen, offensive foul.
55 days A1111 Act of shooting Although Red 2 has piked up the ball and starts his act of shooting but then he changes his mind and passes the ball. No free throws shall be awarded.
62 days B421 Free throw The referee calls a free throw violation on White 0 and repeats the free throw. Is this correct call? Yes. White 0 might enter the 3-point line when the ball touches the ring. He enters much earlier and gains control of the ball. Violation correctly called.
113 days A1110 Unsportsmanlike (rough play) There is no question of an unsportsmanlike foul, but the case is on the verge of a disqualifying foul.
113 days C133 Responsibility-Competence 3PO Who is primarily responsible to call this shot clock violation? The Lead and Trail referees must monitor the play on the strong side, the center referee's duty is also to judge cases near the ring (goaltending and basket interference), as well as shot clock violations.
118 days A1109 Screening The player setting the screen gives time and distance to the screened player. Legal screen. Correct no call.
126 days A1106 Charge-Block When Yellow 5 jumps the defensive player is not on the landing spot, he is moving forward. Defensive foul. The act of shootingstarts later, therefore the basket shall not count.
126 days A1107 Act of shooting The act of shooting has started when the defensive player commits the foul. Basket shall count.
126 days A1108 Blocking a shot Black 8 is basically vertical and the contact with him is marginal. Black 13 clearly taps the ball. Correct decison by the referee: no foul, out-of-bounds.
127 days B419 Travel-Dribble FIBA Tough Calls: Black 15 finishes his dribble and catches the ball with both feet on the floor. When he lifts his right foot, his left foot becomes his pivot foot. He then lifts his pivot foot, and it touches the floor again before releasing the ball for the shot. This is a travelling violation; the basket shall not count and the Yellow team shall be awarded a throw-in from the free throw line extended.
133 days B418 Travel-Dribble FIBA Tough Calls: White 23 gained control of the ball with his right foot on the floor. The first step occurred when he put his left foot on the floor and the second step occurred when he put his right foot on the floor again. Then, he released the ball for the shot before putting any foot on the floor again. This is a legal play.
133 days A1104 Charge-Block-Flop FIBA Tough Calls: During a Blue team offense, Blue 45 and Yellow 5 contest a high post situation and as Blue 45 backs down to the basket defender Yellow 5 falls to the floor and is given a technical foul for flopping. Even with contact from Blue 45, defender Yellow 5 had an unstable position but exaggerates the reaction despite some holding of his shirt by Blue 45, missed by the Lead official who was late to his position.
133 days A1105 Tripping White 1 and Blue 1 jump for the rebound, however the leg of White 1 is extending from his cylinder and Blue 1 falls over this leg. This is not a marginal contact as it causes a significant disadvantage to Blue1. Personal foul against white 1.
141 days B417 Goaltending-Interference FIBA Tough Calls: The grabbing of the rim by White 24 made the whole backstop unit vibrate, thus causing the ball to enter the basket in the judgement of the referee. The basket shall not count.
141 days A1102 Charge-Block-Flop FIBA Tough calls: White 4 was moving when he screened Green 5. The ball shall be awarded to the Green team for a throw-in from the place closest to where the foul occurred.
141 days A1103 Blocking a shot FIBA Tough Calls: Incorrect decision by the referees. Yellow 15 legally blocked the dunk attempt.
144 days A1101 Act of shooting FIBA Tough Calls: Correct decision by the referee. White 11 created an illegal contact by hitting the right arm of the shooter at the start of the shooting motion. 3 free throws for Blue 3.
158 days A1099 Charge-Block-Flop The defensive player moves laterally but he is not on the spot first as the contact is not on his torso but on his side.
158 days A1100 Unsportsmanlike The defensive player does not make any effort to play the ball and causes excessive contact. Unsportsmanlike foul.
167 days B416 Backcourt FIBA Tough Calls: The Green team lost the control of the ball when the ball left Green 55’s hands on the shot for a 3-point goal and the Green team only regained it when Green 55 let it rest in his hand. Legal play.
398 days A1097 Act of shooting The defensive player commits the foul before the offensive player picks up the ball. The basket shall not count.
398 days A1098 Act of shooting The offensive player has just picked up the ball when the foul occurs. 2 free throws shall be awarded.
403 days B415 Goaltending-Interference Helytelen játékvezetői döntés, mivel a labda teljes terjedelmével a gyűrű szintje felett volt, amikor fekete 30 elütötte. Szabályos érintés. Tough Calls: Initial incorrect decision from the referee as the tap, made by Black 30, was legal because the ball was completely above the level of the rim.
403 days A1096 Charge-Block FIBA Tough Calls: Correct decision from the referee. Red 24 was still moving when the contact occurred, and the contact did not occur on his torso. This is a blocking foul.
421 days A1095 Complex Fiba Tough Calls: Black 8 grabbed White 27 before White 21 received the ball to make a dunk. The game shall be resumed with a throw-in for the White team on the side line from the free-throw line extended and 14 seconds on the shot clock.
421 days B414 Travelling Is this a travel? This is a legal pivoting before releasing the ball, not a travelling violation.
426 days A1094 Unsportsmanlike The defensive player wants to play the ball and the contact is not excessive. Normal foul.
433 days A1092 Charge-Block FIBA Tough Calls: White 15 created an illegal contact on his defender by holding (clamping) his arm.
433 days A1093 Screening FIBA Tough Calls: Incorrect decision from the referees. White 4 set a screen on a moving opponent without the ball without allowing him enough time and distance to stop or change his direction. An offensive foul should have been called and the ball awarded to the Red team for a throw-in.
459 days B412 Goaltending-Interference FIBA Tough Calls: Correct decision from the referees. Red 18 touched the ball after the ball had touched the backboard. This is a goaltending violation. The basket is valid, and the game shall be resumed with 1 free throw for White 3.
466 days B410 Act of shooting The player picks up the ball when his right foot is on the floor (0. step) then he takes 2 more steps. Legal. The basket should have been counted.
466 days A1091 Charge-Block-Flop Yellow 7 theatrically flops when there is almost no contact. Correct call charging him with an immediate technical foul.
466 days B411 Travel-Dribble The player does not hold and control the ball when he makes some steps, therefore it cannot be a travelling violation.
468 days B409 Backcourt OBRI 30-9: Example: A1 is standing with both feet in the backcourt close to the centre line, when A1 bounce-passes the ball to A2 who is also standing with both feet in the backcourt close to the centre line. During the pass, the ball touches the team A frontcourt before A2 touches it. Interpretation: This is not a backcourt violation by team A as no team A player with the ball was in the frontcourt. However, the 8-second period shall be stopped when the ball touched the team A frontcourt. A new 8-second period shall start as soon as A2 touches the ball in the backcourt.
478 days A1090 Act of shooting Black 78 picks up the ball and starts his act of shooting when he is fouled. Then he takes his 2 steps legally (but a little slowly) and scores. The basket should count and 1 free trow is the correct decision.
480 days C132 Instant replay 5th minute in Q2. No call on the play. Are the referees allowed to use IRS in this situation? Yes, during the whole game.
480 days A1089 Unsportsmanlike (rough play) White 15 hits the opponent's neck in a rough manner. This type of move may not be on the basketball court. Disqualification.
486 days B407 Travelling The player stops with his left-right foot. Left becomes his pivot foot. Then he lifts his pivot foot when starting a dribble before releasing the ball. Travelling.
486 days B408 Travel-Dribble FIBA Tough Calls: Incorrect decision from the referees. White 0 gained the control of the ball, allowing the ball to rest in his hand, while his left foot was touching the floor (the so-called step 0 or gathering step), so the first step occurred when his right foot touched the floor and the second step occurred when his left foot touched the floor again. However, his right foot touched the floor again before releasing the ball for the lay-up. This is a travelling violation.
489 days B406 Travelling Finishing the dribble the player stops so that he uses his left foot as pivot foot. However after a while he steps with his left foot in order to have a scoring chance. This move is travelling.
491 days B405 Travelling When Red 9 picks up the ball his right foot is on the floor. Then he jumps a bit and lands first on the right foot again. This is not legal, travelling.
493 days B404 Travel-Dribble FIBA Tough Calls: Red 96 gained the control of the ball, allowing the ball to rest in his hand, while his left foot was touching the floor (the so-called step 0 or gathering step), so the first step occurred when his right foot touched the floor and the second step occurred when his left foot touched the floor again. Legal play.
495 days A1087 Charge-Block Although the contact is accidental the shooter's knee is out of his cylinder and causes painful contact. The defensive player legally jumps vertical therefore the offensive player is responsible for the contact which cannot be considered marginal. The ball is still in the hand of the shooter when contact occurs. Offensive foul - no basket.
495 days A1088 Post play Yellow 15 locks the arm of Red 5 during the fight for rebound. Correct call against Yellow 14.
525 days B403 Travelling Travelling violation? White 1 lifts his pivot (left) foot before releasing the ball at the start of the dribble. Travelling.
530 days B401 Travelling The player picks up the ball when his left foot is on the floor (0. step). Then he takes 2 more steps and stops. Then he legally pivots. No travel.
530 days B402 Travelling White 11 lifts his pivot (left) foot at the start of the dribble before releasing the ball. Travelling.
543 days B400 Travelling Travelling violation? The player picks up the ball when his right foot is on the floor (zero step). Then he jumps from this foot and lands first on his left and then on his right foot. Legal play.
545 days A1084 Screening The screen is set outside of the vision of the screened player. At such case the screener shall give time and distance to the opponent in order to avoid the screen. Here the screen is set too close therefore, it is illegal.
545 days A1085 Unsportsmanlike (fast break) FIBA Tough Calls: Once Green 8 was beaten by the dribbler, he created a contact which was not a legitimate attempt to directly play the ball and is considered to be an unnecessary contact to stop the progress of the Yellow team in transition. Unsportsmanlike foul (C3).
545 days A1086 Charge-Block-Flop FIBA Tough Calls: Incorrect decision from the referees. Blue 11 had a legal guarding position. White 11 charged Blue 11 after the pass and an offensive foul should have been called to White 11 and the basket should have been cancelled.
546 days A1083 Verticality The defensive player is vertical, however, he is moving forward and causes contact. Defensive foul.
546 days B398 24 seconds What time should be on the shot clock at the throw in? After the ball has touched the ring of the opponents’ basket, the shot clock shall be reset to 14 seconds, if the team which regains control of the ball is the same team that was in control of the ball before the ball touched the ring.
546 days B399 Travelling Falling on the floor is not a travelling violation. Then a jump ball situation occurs.
549 days A1082 Acting During fighting for position Green 6 theatrically flops due to a marginal contact. No call and warning for fake (if the team was not warned before) and if it the team was warned before, a technical foul shall be accessed.
553 days B397 Goaltending-Interference White 10 is fouled in the act of shooting. Then, while the ball is in contact with the ring, White 20 grasps slightly the ring. Interference. The referees decide correctly when not counting the basket but awarding 2 free throws.
553 days A1080 Screening The defensive player wants to go around the screener but the screener moves in his path. Moving screen, offensive foul.
553 days A1081 Verticality The defensive player establishes a legal guarding position facing the opponent, jumps vertically. The offensive player jumps towards the defensive player and the contact is the torso. The offensive player is responsible for the contact which is marginal, therefore no-cal is the best call.
560 days B396 Backcourt Neither the ball nor the player with two feet have not arrived to the frontcourt, therefore no backcourt violation happened.
560 days A1079 Travel-Dribble Tough calls: Correct decision from the referees. White 4 stood up while holding the ball.
566 days D58 Administratif Between free throws a double technical is called on White#1 and Green#5. This is White#1's 5th foul of the game and he needs to be substituted. Is the green team allowed to effect substitution? No, they can substitute only 1 player.
566 days A1078 Charge-Block The defensive player establishes a legal guarding position in front of the shooter. outside the semi-circle The shooter releases the ball and then falls on the defender. The ball is not in control of the offensive player and its team when he causes contact therefore the basket counts and a foul shall be charged against him. If red team has reached the 5th team foul then Red 22 shall be awarded 2 free throws at the other basket.
575 days A1076 Pushing The offensive player look s for the contact with his left arm. No call is the best call.
575 days B395 Jumpball (situation) Neither team controlled the ball before a held ball was called. The officials decide to have another jump ball between the players who were involved in the held ball situation. Correct procedure?
575 days A1077 Unsportsmanlike (rough play) Red 10 does not play the ball but grabs the arm of the shooter. Unsportsmanlike foul.
587 days A1074 Unsportsmanlike During a transition the defensive player facing the opponent tries to reach towards the ball but reaches the wrist of the player who passes the ball. The contact is not excessive. Normal foul.
587 days A1075 Unsportsmanlike (fast break) During transition the defensive player does not make any effort to play the ball and causes unnecessary contact. Unsportsmanlike foul (C3).
589 days A1073 Screening With the ball in the hand, Red 10 sets a moving screen. Offensive foul.
599 days B394 Jumpball (situation) Neither jumper may catch the ball until it has touched one of the non-jumpers or the floor. This is a violation.
603 days A1072 Screening The screener puts his arm in the way of the screened opponent. Offensive foul correctly called.
606 days A1071 Charge-Block Correct decision from the referees. Blue 5 set his position, outside the no-charge semicircle, before White 6 took off. Therefore, White 6 is responsible for the contact for invading Blue 5 cylinder.
747 days B392 Backcourt The ball has not gone to the frontcourt therefore no backcourt violation happened.
747 days B393 Goaltending-Interference The player cannot assist himself to score by the ring. Interference, basket does not count.
766 days B391 3, 5, 8, 24 seconds The shot is blocked by the defender, but the ball finally touches the ring therefore the operator correctly reset the shot clock to 14 seconds. When the referee stops the play the yellow team controls the ball and the shot clock shows 12 seconds. The yellow team is entitled to a throw-in with 12 secnds on the shot clock.
784 days A1069 Act of shooting White#33 pushes Striped#3 into the shooter. How would you continue the game? Since the player who was pushed was not a shooter, therefore the game shall be resumed with an endline throw-in.
784 days A1070 Unsportsmanlike White 31 grabs and pulls a little Blue 10 when the ball is still in the hands of the thrower-in in the las 2 minutes of the game.. This is a C5 type unsportsmanlike foul. Then Blue 10 commits an unsportsmanlike foul when he hits back.
791 days B390 24 seconds The striped team asks the referees to stop the game to mop the floor. What shall the shot clock show at the throw-in? 19 seconds should remain as the request was made by the striped team.
791 days A1068 Charge-Block White 7 changed his direction and set a screen on a moving opponent without the ball, not respecting the elements of time and distance. Offensive foul for illegal screening.
793 days A1065 Act of shooting FIBA Tough Calls: Black 20 pump faked and then he started a new act of shooting moving the ball upwards towards the opponents’ basket when the contact occurred. Black 20 should have been awarded 3 free throws.
793 days A1066 Act of shooting White 5 has picked up the ball and starts his act of shooting when contact occurs. 2 free throws shall be awarded.
793 days A1067 Screening FIBA Tough Calls: If the opponent is in motion, the elements of time and distance shall apply. The screener must leave enough space so that the player who is being screened is able to avoid the screen by stopping or changing direction. The distance required is never less than 1 and never more than 2 normal steps. Correct decision from the referees. Black 6 committed a blocking foul on Yellow 6 because he didn’t respect the elements of time and distance.
804 days A1064 Screening Blue 35 sets a moving screen. Offensive foul.
809 days A1062 3 seconds Allowance shall be given to the player leaving the paint, therefore no call would be the correct decision.
809 days A1063 Act of shooting Blue 25 has just picked up the ball and starts his act of shooting when the contact occurs. 2 free throws should have been awarded.
815 days A1061 Technical foul OBRI 36-6 example says at such disconcerting action by the defender is a warning at first case if the ball enters the basket. However if the ball does not enter the basket it is an immediate tachnical foul.
820 days A1060 Screening Green 37 moves his bottom deliberately in the path of Red 10 and causes contact. Offensive foul.
829 days A1059 Unsportsmanlike While White 10 is stealing the ball and have open path to the basket Green 32, who tries to reach for the ball, pushes her from the side. Since there is no other defensive player between White 10 and the basket this push from the side is to be considered as unsportsmanlike foul (C4).
833 days A1058 Act of shooting Blue 99 has picked up the ball and started his act of shooting when contact occurs. 2 free throws shall be awarded.